top of page

Spring Triples 2024

Spring triples Trophy 2020.jpg

The Spring Triples are run every Monday afternoon, from late February to early April. For 2024 there will be 10 teams of 7 players. All teams are drawn and each team has a Captain who is responsible for organising a playing rota for the team.

Fixtures are also drawn and teams play each other, no more than once during the tournament. The winners are the team who are top of the league at the end of the competition.

The winning team will receive the Trophy for the team ( as shown above which remains in the Club Trophy Cabinet along with the names of the winning team.)

Each team member also receives an individual monetary prize.

Each team is allocated a name on a theme, chosen by the organiser (currently John Sherington).

Team Harrods win the Spring 2024 Triples

Harrods went into the final match in pole position and held their nerve to beat Tesco 14-10 and so finish as tournament winners. Tesco made them fight for it though, and after thirteen ends there was only one point in it. Co-op after a slow start to the tournament have won their last five matches including todays against Iceland and so finished level on points at the top with Harrods but the earlier losses cost them in their points difference. Sainsbury held onto third place with a thrilling comeback against Morrisons. Trailing 12-4 at the halfway stage they fought back to win 17-15, and a special mention for their novice skipper Annette Davison. The match between One Stop and Asda takes the honours for the craziest finish with Simon O’Neil trailing 7-12 then winning the next two ends by 6 and 5 so taking a 18-12 lead into the last end only for Neil Fletcher to snatch 7 shots for a 19-18 victory.

 The wooden spoon match on rink 1 was a close affair with both teams struggling to cope with a tricky wind (someone left the side gate open!) but Kevin Gillingham for BandM held his nerve to claim a 13-11 win, consigning Waitrose to bottom place.

After the matches Club President Peter Blake presented the Rod Maxted Trophy to Harrods Captain David Garside and individual trophies to the victorious team of ;       David Garside, Les Chantler, Joan Barton, Dave Forsyth, Judy Eynon, Peter Sherwood and Mike Coward.   A special mention for Dave Forsyth who has been on the winning team for the last four tournaments.

I should like to thank all the Team Captains for organising their teams and the mystery helpers setting up the rinks each week. I was reflecting that during one of the wettest Springs on record we managed to play full matches every single week so let’s hope for a similar outcome for the Autumn Triples starting in September.

                                                               John Sherrington                       29th April 2024                              

2024 Teams and Players list.

Click on the link below which will open a spreadsheet of teams and team members:-

2024 Team Fixtures and results.

Click on the link below which will open a spreadsheet of fixtures and results:-

Team Hibernian win the Spring 2023 Triples

Spring Triples 2023

                                Going into Monday’s final matches of the tournament three teams were battling for the top spot. Hearts the leaders were beaten 12-20 by third place Dundee leaving Hibernian the chance to take the title which they did with a 15-9 win over Dumbarton.  At the bottom Clyde came out on top against Arbroath 9-8 leaving Motherwell stranded at the bottom.

                              The Spring Triples Trophy was presented to Hibernian’s Captain Simon O’Neil by the Club’s Past President Joan Barton. The successful Hibernian team were;

Simon O’Neil, Geoff Butt, Dave Forsyth, Ron Tizzard,

 Vi Oliver, Ann Scott and Ian Stevenson.

                              I would like to thank all the Captains without whom we could not have a tournament and also all those people who helped set up the rinks each week. Mike Walsh and Colin Mottram who covered my absences.


                      John Sherrington                   18th April 2023

Spring Triples Results 2023
Team Hibernian win the Competition, click below to view the final results.
The Team Members are contained in the second spreadsheet.
k the relevant link below and the spreadsheet will either open or download depending on your device.

bottom of page